Much to learn…

Wall near downtown Lima Peru depicting a march. Words in upper left say “Education is not a product.”

After organizing at ONE (onechicago.org) for 8+ years my wife Laura and I are taking off for a long planned trip around the world.  I am looking forward to chance to reflect on my organizing work to date; and very excited about the opportunity to meet with community and labor organizers in different countries and cultures.  My plan is to connect with organizers and movement leaders throughout our travels and hear from them what we (regular everyday people/99%/normal folks) can be doing to build power and leadership to win things like fairness for families and communities, human rights, and access to democracy.  I will post short videos and hope for this blog to be a place of learning, reflecting, and sharing of cutting edge ideas for building people power.  I hope to identify clear strategies being used by base organizations to build power and also for fighting back against the concentration of wealth in the hands of a few, and attacks on democracy and public resources that have become more prevalent during the great recession.  I want to push the question of how to build power for normal people on a scale that has real significant impact.

Today is day 15 of a 428 day trip so I am just getting revved up.  I have 5 interviews done so far and plan to have them and others edited and up before we leave for Guatemala in August.  We have a busy schedule ahead of us and I have some work to do learning to translate and edit video but I am looking forward to it.

Thanks for checking in!

Laura and Cory with nephews Aidan and Gabe at the beginning of our trip in July 2012.

Laura and Cory with nephews Aidan and Gabe at the beginning of our trip in July 2012.

Cory Muldoon

corymuldoon@yahoo.com

One thought on “Much to learn…

Leave a Reply

